Mr. Darcy Mr. Mr. Darcyyyy AND ZOMBIES

First of all I want to start this post by saying that I will not say that this version of Lizzie Bennet is a feminist bad-ass. Why? BECAUSE ELIZABETH BENNETT HAS BEEN A FEMINIST BADASS SINCE 1813.

The addition of zombies does not make Elizabeth Bennet any more of a feminist than she already is. The woman said no to two favourable marriage proposals in a society where that was unheard of for crying out loud?! Also since when do you need to know how to handle a sword to be a feminist?

But okay. Now that that is out of the way let’s discuss Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

THE BOYS IN PANDP.jpg

To start off you should note that even though I am the first one to tell you and Pride and Prejudice is as If not a more important text than the bible, I did not quite love this film. It’s too bad too because Lily James is amazing in everything she does.

To be clear, there are things I loved about it. There were great moments. But overall, it just didn’t quite do it for me.

I think I would have liked it better if it was a retelling of P&P in a zombie film similar to the way Warm Bodies is a retelling of Romeo and Juliet (her name is Julie and his name is R…you didn’t see that?).

Maybe the story of pride and prejudice is too close to my heart. But I would have liked this to either be more of a parody or less of an adaptation. In fact this film was full, and I mean full of homage to the previous versions of this film. I’m sure some people liked this, I would have too, had it been once or twice. But the entire film was filled with so many similarities to the other films that I found myself wishing I was watching those versions over this one.

Pride-and-Prejudice-and-Zombies-header

Now before you go…well obviously it’s telling almost the same story they’re going to share a plot…I’ll tell that’s not what I mean.  I’m talking about shots. Like Darcy jumping into a body of water in a white see through shirt. I’m talking about when Bingley leaves and we see straight on shots of all the characters in the carriage in the 2005 version. I’m talking about the duel wedding. I’m talking about the little lift up that Bingley and Jane do in the 2005 version of the movie that was replicated. I’m talking about the white sheets being put over all the furniture.

I KNOW! I KNOW THE 2005 VERSION TOO WELL.
But this was a NEW version and I would have liked to see new shots! And if you are going to do that why not keep the best parts LIKE DARCY AND LIZZIE DANCING?!

pride and pre.jpg

When the Lizzie Bennet diaries did homages they were subtle not almost identical.
My other beef with it is that I didn’t like Sam Riley’s voice. I don’t know why but it felt like I was watching Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and Batman. Does his voice always sound like that? Why haven’t I noticed that before?
Finally, I left the theatre unsure as to why Wickham decided to run-off with Lydia. The reason is obviously not the same as in the original Austen Text…but I honestly don’t know why it happened in this version other than they needed it to happen.

With that said there are things this film did right.

When this film acted as a well-done parody it worked! Mr. Collins was perfection. That scene when Lizzie is struggling to carry all her guns and he decides to help by adjusting them instead of grabbing some was amazing. Also his proposal was pretty funny. All in all Mr. Collins was my fav part of this movie. It just worked so well.

matt collins and darcy

Also the Darcy proposal scene was SO GOOD. I loved seeing them fight, like in a physical fight. It worked for this version. It was fresh and original and I loved that. I needed that. I expected that from this film.

The girl’s kicking ass was awesome. It was fun to watch.

And that bridge scene was cheesy, but like I’m not complaining. I’m a sucker for that sort of thing.

So will I see this again? Well yeah, it’s Pride and Prejudice and I am always in for PandP but I won’t buy it. And I probably won’t watch it once a month, or even once a year like I do other versions.

Leave a Reply

